Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

  • History

    Since its founding in 1957, the Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra (GSO) has developed into one of China’s most artistically excellent and vibrant orchestral institutions. It is the first and only Chinese symphony orchestra to have toured and performed on five continents, receiving acclaim as “one of China’s most prestigious music ensembles” (China Daily) and “China’s nexus of musical tradition and innovation” (Financial Times of London).

  • Music Director

    Maestro Long Yu, Music Director since 2003, is a preeminent Chinese conductor with international renown. He also serves as Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the China Philharmonic Orchestra, Music Director of the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra, Chairman of the Artistic Committee of the Beijing Music Festival and Co-Director of the Music in the Summer Air Festival (MISA) in Shanghai. Long Yu was appointed Principal Guest Conductor of the Hong Kong Philharmonic, beginning in the 2015/2016 season.

  • Milestones

    The GSO is also one of the first orchestras in China to institute a professional concert season. The 2018/2019 season marks the GSO’s 22nd season. In July 1997, the GSO marked an important milestone, having restructured its organization. Beginning in May 1998, the orchestra introduced a full “music season.” In October that year, the orchestra received rave reviews and was lauded as a “shining star” at the inaugural Beijing Music Festival for its performance in the opera La Bohème. “It is heartening to see the GSO’s meteoric rise as an artistic force in southern China, joining the ranks of other distinguished orchestras in the country’s mainstream,” one Beijing critic reported. For many years, the GSO returned annually to the Beijing Music Festival.

  • International Network

    The GSO has sustained long-term relationships with numerous renowned musicians at home and abroad, establishing a wide international network and enjoying a high reputation among the world’s music circles. In past seasons, the GSO has regularly invited the most accomplished conductors, soloists and singers to collaborate in repertoire ranging from Baroque to modern, broadening its audience appeal and creating valuable training opportunities for the orchestra’s musicians to improve their craft. “It was the best sound I ever heard from among Chinese orchestras,” the famous Polish composer Krzysztof Penderecki remarked after attending a GSO concert. In 2004, international artist agencies began to engage the GSO for international touring and large-scale cultural projects, bringing the orchestra and its reputation to even farther shores.

  • World Tours

    Beginning in 2000, the GSO was sent on numerous tours by the Ministry of Culture and the Guangdong Provincial Government, visiting Austria, Germany, the United Kingdom, France, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, Egypt, Australia, New Zealand, America, Belgium, Italy, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Japan, South Korea, Thailand and Singapore, among others. The GSO has graced the stages of the Goldenensaal of Vienna’s Musikverein, Théâtre des Champs-Élysées in Paris, Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, Cairo Opera House, Sydney Opera House, New York’s Carnegie Hall, Boston’s Symphony Hall, Washington’s Kennedy Center, Berlin Konzerthaus,  Venice’s Teatro La Fenice, Florence’s Teatro Verdi, Lucerne Culture and Convention Centre, Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall, Singapore’s Esplanade-Theatres on the Bay, the Tonhalle Zürich, Geneva Victoria Hall, London’s Cadogan Hall, Manchester’s Bridgewater Hall and Birmingham Symphony Hall, among other world-famous venues. In 2006, the GSO was invited to perform in both the opening and closing ceremonies of the 15th Asian Games in Doha, Qatar. The orchestra has also appeared more than 20 times at the Hong Kong Arts Festival, Macao Arts Festival and Macao International Music Festival. In October 2012, the GSO made its Taiwan debut during the Guangdong City Cultural Week at the Cross-Strait City Arts Festival, with concerts in Taipei’s National Theater and Concert Hall and the Taichung Chung Hsing Hall. In September 2014, on the occasion of the NSW-Guangdong Sister-State 35th Anniversary, the GSO performed two concerts in Sydney’s City Recital Hall, Angel Place, and Canberra’s Llewellyn Hall. In January 2015, invited by Migros Kulturprozent Classics, the GSO made its fifth Europe tour and performed in Zurich, Geneva, Bern and St. Gallen. In 2017, the GSO made its sixth European tour, visiting London, Manchester and Birmingham on the occasion of the 45th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between China and the United Kingdom, where it was headlined in The Guardian as a “highly accomplished band.” The orchestra not only fulfills its role as cultural ambassador abroad, but also promotes meaningful exchange within the Pearl River Delta region and across the Taiwan Straits.

  • Diversified Development

    The GSO has also diversified its mission and programs in the past decade. Between 2005 and 2007, the orchestra organized the Canton International Summer Music Academy with Maestro Charles Dutoit as music director, inviting such distinguished artists as Martha Argerich, Gary Graffman and Claus Peter Flor as well as more than 20 principals from world-renowned orchestras as tutors, attracting young musicians from all over Asia. The GSO hosted the Canton Asian Music Festival, held at the Xinghai Concert Hall, in November 2010 on the occasion of the 16th Asian Games. The 13-day festival featured six of the best Asian orchestras and 17 distinguished Asian musicians including Yo-Yo Ma, Lang Lang, Myung-Whun Chung, Tan Dun, Cho-Liang Lin, Midori, Jian Wang and Sarah Chang with a total in 10 concerts. The GSO has also collaborated with the world’s leading ballet and opera companies, appearing both in the pit and in concert renditions. The orchestra regularly commissions new works from prominent composers in China and abroad, fostering China’s development in symphonic music. In addition, the GSO also presents chamber music, education, pops, outdoor and festival concerts every season. In December 2011, the GSO established its affiliate youth orchestra, later renamed the Guangzhou Symphony Youth Orchestra (August 2016), the first amateur youth orchestra administered by a professional orchestra in China. In January 2017, with GSO Music Director Long Yu leading its Artistic Committee and Yo-Yo Ma as Artistic Director, Youth Music Culture Guangdong (YMCG) was launched, immediately garnering acclaim for “opening a new page in the Chinese symphonic world.” YMCG is scheduled to be an annual event. All of these programs reflect the orchestra’s overall strategy in achieving all-round development.

  • Forge Ahead

    The GSO moved its headquarters to Ersha Island along the Pearl River in 2009. This new facility, equipped with the most up-to-date technology, has provided the orchestra with superb amenities and the means to advance both artistically and institutionally. While adhering to its own heritage, the Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra continues to forge ahead, always keeping apace with the times.

广州交响乐团

  • 悠久历史

    广州交响乐团创建于1957年,发展至今已成为中国目前最具规模和艺术水准的交响乐团之一。作为迄今为止唯一在世界五大洲留下“音乐足迹”的中国乐团,是国内外业界和媒体眼中“最具国际影响力的中国乐团之一”。广州交响乐团也是中国最早实行音乐季模式运作的职业乐团之一,2017/2018音乐季是乐团的第21个音乐季。

  • 音乐总监

    现任音乐总监余隆是活跃于当今国际乐坛上最为杰出的中国指挥家之一,他同时担任中国爱乐乐团艺术总监和首席指挥、上海交响乐团音乐总监、北京国际音乐节艺术总监、上海夏季音乐节联合总监,并于2015/2016乐季起出任香港管弦乐团首席客席指挥。

  • 里程碑

    1997年7月实行的体制改革是乐团发展历程中的重大里程碑。从1998年5月开始推行音乐季,10月应邀在第一届北京国际音乐节演出普契尼的歌剧《波希米亚人》,好评如潮,被誉为音乐节中一颗“引人注目的明星”,北京媒体评论:“‘广交’迅速崛起于中国南方,进入了主流乐团的行列,是中国乐坛中一件可喜可贺的事。”此后连续数年获邀参加北京国际音乐节的演出。

  • 国际合作

    乐团与国内外众多著名音乐家保持着长期和良好的合作关系,并建立了广泛紧密的国际性合作网络。在过往的音乐季中不断邀请来自国内和世界各地的指挥家、独奏家及歌唱家联袂演出,演出曲目范围涵盖了巴洛克时期至现代派的作品,乐团的艺术水平得以迅速提升,声誉鹊起。国际著名的音乐大师潘德列斯基甚至称赞:“这是我听到的中国乐团最好的声音”。2004年起,海外知名的艺术经纪公司开始代理乐团的国际巡演与大型文化活动,乐团的艺术水准由此获得国际业界更为广泛的权威认同。

  • 世界足迹

    从2000年开始,乐团多次受文化部和广东省派遣,出访奥地利、德国、英国、法国、荷兰、卢森堡、埃及、澳大利亚、新西兰、美国、比利时、意大利、瑞士、列支敦士登、日本、韩国、泰国和新加坡等国家。在维也纳金色大厅、巴黎香榭丽舍剧院、阿姆斯特丹皇家音乐厅、开罗国家歌剧院、悉尼歌剧院、纽约卡内基音乐厅、波士顿交响音乐厅、华盛顿肯尼迪艺术中心、柏林音乐厅、威尼斯凤凰歌剧院、佛罗伦萨威尔第歌剧院、瑞士卢塞恩文化会议中心音乐厅、东京歌剧城音乐厅、新加坡滨海艺术中心音乐厅、苏黎世音乐大厅、日内瓦维多利亚音乐厅、伦敦卡多冈音乐厅、曼彻斯特布里奇沃特音乐厅和伯明翰交响音乐厅等国际著名音乐厅及剧院登台。2006年应邀在卡塔尔首都多哈举行的第15届亚洲运动会开幕式和闭幕式上演奏。此外,还曾20多次参加香港艺术节、澳门艺术节和澳门国际音乐节的演出。2012年10月,赴台湾参加“两岸城市艺术节——广东城市文化周”,在台北两厅院音乐厅和台中中兴堂举行音乐会。2014年9月,在中国广东省和澳大利亚新南威尔士州结成友好省州35周年之际,乐团出访澳洲参加“广东文化周”,在悉尼市政厅音乐厅和堪培拉卢埃林音乐厅举行两场音乐会。2015年1月,应瑞士米格罗音乐节邀请,在苏黎世、日内瓦、伯尔尼和圣加伦这四个瑞士名城巡演。2017年第六次出访欧洲时首次进入英国巡演,在伦敦、曼彻斯特和伯明翰这三个重要城市都举行了音乐会,英国《卫报》以“有极高修养的乐团”为题予以了报道和评论。走过世界各地的“音乐足迹”印证了乐团作为“音乐使者”为传播中国文化和促进粤、港、澳、台两岸四地文化交流所做出的努力和贡献。

  • 多元发展

    近年来乐团发展呈多元化。从2005年开始连续三年举办了由指挥大师夏尔•迪图瓦担任音乐总监的“中国广东国际音乐夏令营”,邀请了玛莎•阿格里奇、加里•格拉夫曼、克劳斯•彼得•弗洛尔等多名音乐大师及20多位来自世界著名乐团的首席演奏家担任导师,夏令营声名远播,亚洲各国学员纷至沓来。2010年11月藉第16届亚运会在广州举办之际,乐团同时举办了“广东亚洲音乐节”,邀请了6个知名亚洲乐团及马友友、郎朗、郑明勋、谭盾、林昭亮、宓多里、王健、莎拉•张等17位国际著名的亚裔音乐家,演出阵容鼎盛,节目精彩纷呈。此外,乐团还与多个世界著名芭蕾舞团合作演出了十多部经典芭蕾舞剧,制作及参与演出过多部音乐会版和舞台版歌剧。委约中国作曲家为乐团创作新作品,促进民族交响乐的发展。在每个音乐季中均安排室内乐、普及、通俗、户外及节庆音乐会等演出。2011年12月,创建了中国首个由职业乐团培训及管理的青少年乐团——广州交响乐团附属青少年乐团(2016年8月更名为广州青年交响乐团)。此外,由广交音乐总监余隆作为艺委会主席,邀请大提琴家马友友先生担任艺术总监的 “广东国际青年音乐周” ,于2017年1月首次举办,随即被业界称为“翻开中国交响乐崭新的一页”。“广东国际青年音乐周”今后将每年举办。这些举措,无不显示出乐团全方位发展的策略。

  • 与时俱进

    乐团于2009年迁入位于珠江江畔、二沙岛上的新址,这个具有国际先进水平、现代化的新家无疑为乐团发展提供了更为优越的条件和保障。在坚持自身特色的同时,乐团将继往开来,与时俱进,努力为中国交响乐事业的发展进行有益的探索。