Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Gustav Mahler were born a century apart, but they both have a strong connection to the musical capital of Vienna. Putting their works together in this season’s closing concert provides a dynamic finale for the GSO. Mozart’s piano concerto, written for Madame Jenamy, was one of the most recent mysteries solved in music history (for the past century, it was misidentified as “Jeunehomme”). Mahler’s Symphony No.5 juxtaposes the themes of death and love, with its fourth movement (Adagietto) dedicated to his wife Alma, revealing tender emotions in such a masterful, voluminous work.

  • Time:2020-07-18 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥680/480/380/280/180/80

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Concerto No.9 in E-flat major, K.271

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No.5 in C-sharp minor

Long Yu, conductor
Johnson Li, piano