In 1866, Max Bruch conducted the world premiere of his Violin Concerto No.1, instantly celebrated as a classic and well-loved by all. Russian composer Rimsky-Korsakov based his mysterious and enthralling Scheherazade on the well-loved Thousand and One Nights, and since its premiere in 1888 the suite has captivated audiences worldwide. Although Saint-Saëns’ Cello Concerto No.2 does not match in popularity to his first, its expressive depth resonates with many, proving that conventional elements such as melody and color are not the be-all and end-all of artistic achievement.

  • Time:2021-04-30 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥VIP680/480/380/280/180/80

Max Bruch
Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor, Op.26

Camille Saint-Saëns
Cello Concerto No.2 in D minor, Op.119

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Scheherazade, Op.35

Long Yu, conductor
Lin Ruifeng, violin
Pan Chang, cello