Three works never before presented in a GSO season, two of which are piano concertos in divergent styles, make up our season-opening concert. Chopin’s Piano Concerto No.2 is filled with the poetry of first love and youthful reverie; Bartók’s Piano Concerto No.1, by contrast, pushes the soloist’s technical prowess to the limit. Yuja Wang performs not one but both concertos in one evening, rising to the challenge of ultimate artistry and physical strength!

  • Time:2016-9-17 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥680/380/280/180/100

2016-2017 Season Opening Concert

Saturday September 17, 2016
Xinghai Concert Hall
John Nelson, conductor
Yuja Wang, piano
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Béla Bartók
Romanian Folk Dances
1.Jocul cu bâtă (Stick Dance)
2.Brâul (Sash Dance)
3.Pe loc (In One Spot)
4.Buciumeana (Dance from Bucsum)
5.Poarga Românească (Romanian Polka)
6.Mărunțel (Fast Dance)

Fryderyk Chopin
Piano Concerto No.2 in F minor, Op.21
3.Allegro vivace

Yuja Wang, piano

—— Intermission ——

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 6 in F major (Pastoral), Op.68
1.Allegro ma non troppo
2.Andante molto mosso

Approx 1 hr and 40 mins incl 20 mins interval.