Composers of the romantic period were highly individual both in creativity and influence. Fauré’s Pelléas et Mélisande Suite, characterized by relatively conventional melodies and harmonies, shies away from technical bravura, fitting perfectly with Maeterlinck’s symbolist play about two doomed lovers. Liszt’s Piano Concerto No.2 is a daring assembly of poetic lyricism and heroic bravado in praise of universal love. Dvořák combined American spirituals into his own Bohemian folk style adroitly, creating a work “from the New World” that continues to electrify audiences across the globe.

  • Time:2023-12-22 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥880/680/480/380/280/180/80

Subscription Concert 8
2023.12.22 Fri. 20:00
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall

Gabriel Fauré
Pelléas et Mélisande Suite, Op.80

Franz Liszt
Piano Concerto No.2 in A major, S.125

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No.9 in E minor, Op.95, “From the New World”

Charles Dutoit, conductor
Serena Wang, piano