Yehudi Menuhin International Violin Competition winner Wang Zhi-Jong takes up the challenging virtuosity required in Prokofiev’s First Violin Concerto. The other two works in this all-Russian program are by Mussorgsky: while “Dawn on the Moskva River” depicts a natural scene, Pictures at an Exhibition uses music to illustrate visual art. All three works are imbued with true Russian spirit!

  • Time:2015-10-04 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥VIP280/180/120/80


Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky
Dawn on the Moskva River from Khovantchina

Sergey Prokofiev
Violin Concerto No.1 in D Major, Op.19
2.Scherzo, vivacissimo

Wang Zhi-Jong, violin

—— Intermission ——

Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky
Pictures at an Exhibition (Arranged by Maurice Ravel)
1.Gnomus; Promenade
2.The old castle; Promenade
4.Bydlo; Promenade
5.Ballet of the Chicks in their Shells
6.Samuel Goldenerg and Schmuyle
8.Catacombes;Cum mortuis in lingua mortua
9.The Hut on Fowl’s Legs
10.The Great Gate of Kiev

Pre-Concert Talk

Pre-Concert Talk 1:
Huang Yi, lecturer
19:15 Sun. 4 Oct 2015
Xinghai Concert Hall Lobby