Mendelssohn’s Overture to Ruy Blas, based on Victor Hugo’s tragedy, takes the audience to the dark side of humanity. Legendary French pianist Grimaud interprets Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G Major with a distinctly sprightly disposition rather than seeking dramatic angst. There’s even a tinge of jazz in the final movement, as well as an occasional car horn. Under the baton of John Nelson, Dvořák’s “From the New World” will shine a new light on a well-loved classic!

  • Time:2015-10-16 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥VIP680/380/280/180/100


Felix Mendelssohn
Overture to Ruy Blas, Op.95

Maurice Ravel
Piano Concerto in G Major
2.Adagio assai

Hélène Grimaud, piano

—— Intermission ——

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No.9 in e minor, Op.95 (From the New World)
1.Adagio- Allegro Molto
3.Scherzo, Molto vivace
4.Allegro con fuoco