Zhang Guoyong, China’s most celebrated Shostakovich interpreter, leads the modern master’s Symphony No.8, a five-movement tour de force celebrating victory in war. Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No.1 featuring soloist Huang Mengla has four contrasting movements expressing entirely different sentiments. Pronounced dramatic tensions in these works mirror Shostakovich’s difficult life, making us ponder again about great music that came into being because of life’s circumstances and fate’s harsh blows.

  • Time:2016-02-27 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥VIP280/180/120/80

Dmitry Shostakovich
Prelude to The Age of Gold Suite

Dmitry Shostakovich
Violin Concerto No.1 in a minor, Op.77
1.Nocturne, Moderato
2.Scherzo, Allegro
3.Passacaglia, Andante
4.Burlesque, Allegro con brio
Huang Mengla, violin

—— Intermission ——

Dmitry Shostakovich
Symphony No.8 in c minor, Op.65
3.Allegro non troppo

Pre-Concert Talk

Pre-Concert Talk 4:
Zhang Guoyong, lecturer
19:15 Sat. 20 Feb 2016
Xinghai Concert Hall Lobby