Béla Bartók, who died at the end of the Second World War, was not only a leading figure in Hungary’s modern music but also left an indelible mark on musical development worldwide. This concert features his early, folkloric Dance Suite (1923) as well as two of his late works: his final composition, Concerto for Orchestra, and his Viola Concerto, the score of which was found posthumously. All of these works attest to Bartók as the 20th-century modern master!

  • Time:2016-07-09 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥VIP280/180/120/80

Béla Bartók
Dance Suite, BB 86a
2.Allegro molto
3.Allegro vivace
4.Molto tranquillo
6.Finale, Allegro

Béla Bartók
Viola Concerto, BB 128
2.Adagio Religioso
3.Allegro vivace

Qian Yuxing, viola

—— Intermission ——

Béla Bartók
Concerto for Orchestra, BB 123
1.Introduzione, Andante non troppo – Allegro vivace
2.Giuoco delle coppie, Allegretto Scherzando
3.Elegia, Andante non troppo
4.Intermezzo interrotto, Allegretto
5.Finale, Pesante – Presto

Pre-Concert Talk

Pre-Concert Talk 10:
Xia Xiaotang, lecturer
19:15 Sat. 9 Jul 2016
Xinghai Concert Hall Lobby