Mussorgsky’s Prelude to Khovanchschina, subtitled “Dawn on the Moscow River,” is resplendent of its poetic setting. Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini is a passionate and expressive technical tour de force. One of Tchaikovsky’s most popular ballet scores, The Nutcracker is filled with joy and imagination, its second act a cascade of folk dances from different locales. The “Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy” and “Waltz of the Flowers” add to the ballet’s series of enchanting and enthralling musical numbers.

  • Time:2016-12-17 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥380/280/180/120/80

Subscription Concert 5
Organizers: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Xinghai Concert Hall
Lawrence Foster, conductor
Gina Alice, piano
Guangzhou Symphony

Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky
Dawn on the Moscow River from Khovanshchina

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op.43
1.Introduction: Allegro vivace
2.Variation I (Precedente)
Tema: L’istesso tempo
3.Variation II: L’istesso tempo
4.Variation III: L’istesso tempo
5.Variation IV: Più vivo
6.Variation V: Tempo precedente
7.Variation VI: L’istesso tempo
8.Variation VII: Meno mosso, a tempo moderato
9.Variation VIII: Tempo I
10.Variation IX: L’istesso tempo
11.Variation X: L’istesso tempo
12.Variation XI: Moderato
13.Variation XII: Tempo di minuetto
14.Variation XIII: Allegro
15.Variation XIV: L’istesso tempo
16.Variation XV: Più vivo scherzando
17.Variation XVI: Allegretto
18.Variation XVII: Allegretto
19.Variation XVIII: Andante cantabile
20.Variation XIX: L’istesso tempo
21.Variation XX: Un poco più vivo
22.Variation XXI: Un poco più vivo
23.Variation XXII: Un poco più vivo
24.Variation XXIII: L’istesso tempo
25.Variation XXIV: A tempo un poco meno mosso

Gina Alice, piano

—— Intermission ——

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Act II from The Nutcracker
a.Le chocolat
b.Le café
c.Le thé
e.Les Mirlitons
f.La mère Gigogne et les polichinelles
4.Valse des fleurs
5.Pas de deux
Variation I: Tarantelle
Variation II: Danse de la Fée-Dragée
7.Valse finale et Apothéose