Early in his life, American modern composer Samuel Barber composed a dramatic yet concise work, as if penning a short essay. Matched with Mozart’s beloved, phenomenally brilliant Piano Concerto No.23, this program will surely delight and surprise. To date, Robert Blocker has served as the Dean of the Yale School of Music for 21 years. This program is instilled with joyous expectations, just like a garden filled with radiant blossoms.

  • Time:2016-12-03 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥280/180/120/80

Subscription Concert 5
Organizers: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall

Xinghai Concert Hall
Jing Huan, conductor
Robert Blocker, piano
Mayu Kishima,violin
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Samuel Barber
Essay No.2, Op.17

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Concerto No.23 in A major, K.488
3.Allegro assai

Robert Blocker, piano

—— Intermission ——

Dmitry Shostakovich
Violin Concerto No.1 in A minor, Op.77
1.Nocturne, Moderato
2.Scherzo, Allegro
3.Passacaglia, Andante
4.Burlesque, Allegro con brio

Mayu Kishima,violin