Three French composers of different eras offer contrasting interpretations of French romanticism. Berlioz’s Roman Carnival Overture brims with life basking in Italian sunshine. Ravel’s Piano Concerto contains tinges of folklike music, even a whiff of jazz. Saint-Saëns’ Symphony No.3, colored with Lisztian poetics, features an organ to expand its expressive range.

  • Time:2017-06-03 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥280/180/120/80

Subscription Concert 13
Organizers: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Xinghai Concert Hall
Pascal Rophé, conductor
Yuan Fang, piano
Li Yihua, organ
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Hector Berlioz
Overture to Roman Carnival

Maurice Ravel
Piano Concerto in G major
2.Adagio assai

Yuan Fang, piano

—— Intermission ——

Camille Saint-Saëns
Symphony No.3 in C minor (Organ Symphony), Op.78
1.Adagio – Allegro moderato – Poco adagio
2.Allegro moderato – Presto – Allegro moderato

Li Yihua, organ

Approx 1 hr and 20 mins incl 20 mins interval.