China’s culture and spirit are represented here by three works by composers of three different generations, each utilizing the Western compositional language in his own way. Lü Qiming (b.1930) composed Ode to the Red Flag in 1965, reflecting the Zeitgeist of the New China. The 2018 work Flowing Sleeves by Zhou Tian (b.1981) melds traditional Chinese operatic elements into the cello, while Guo Wenjing (b.1956) revised an earlier 2002 commission by the Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra into his “Hero” symphony.

  • Time:2019-09-15 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥680/480/380/280/180/80

Lü Qiming
Ode to the Red Flag

Zhou Tian
Cello Concerto Flowing Sleeves

Guo Wenjing
Symphony in B minor (“Hero”), Op.39

Jing Huan, conductor
Jian Wang, cello