We explore the world of musical senses with three works from three centuries that delve into the philosophical depths of joy and sadness in music. Brahms’s Tragic Overture (1880), is a work the digs deep into the beauty of pathos. Scriabin’s Poem of Ecstasy (1908) celebrates the delirium of creation. Chen Qigang’s La joie de la souffrance (2017) signifies the interconnectivity of happiness and suffering. This program’s wide range of sensibilities is also reflected in the respective cities the works were premiered—Vienna, New York and Beijing.

  • Time:2019-11-09 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥380/280/180/120/80

1, 695th concert since the GSO’s inaugural “Music Season” in May 1998

Subscription Concert 4
Organizer: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Huang Yi, conductor
Chad Hoopes, violin
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Chen Qigang
La joie de la souffrance
Chad Hoopes, violin

—— Intermission ——

Johannes Brahms
Tragic Overture, Op.81

Aleksandr Scriabin
The Poem of Ecstasy, Op.54

Approx 1 hr and 20 mins incl 20 mins interval.