“Dawn on the Moscow River” was the prelude to Mussorgsky’s unfinished Khovanshchina, while Tchaikovsky’s masterful Violin Concerto was completed by Lake Geneva, and Rachmaninoff penned his Symphony No.3 while in America. The patriotic fervor of all three composers—despite different circumstances toward the end of their lives—is palpable.

  • Time:2019-11-14 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥680/480/380/280/180/80

1, 696th concert since the GSO’s inaugural “Music Season” in May 1998

Subscription Concert 5
Organizer: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Charles Dutoit, conductor
Mayu Kishima, violin
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Modest Mussorgsky(1839-1881)
(Orchestration by Rimsky-Korsakov)
“Dawn on the Moscow River” from Khovanshchina

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky(1840-1893)
Violin Concerto in D major, Op.35
1.Allegro moderato
2.Canzonetta, Andante
3.Finale, Allegro vivacissimo
Mayu Kishima, violin

—— Intermission ——

Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873-1943)
Symphony No.3 in A minor, Op.44
1.Lento – Allegro moderato
2.Adagio ma non troppo

Approx 1 hr and 40 mins incl 20 mins interval.