This all-French program presents four stylistic varied works. Berlioz’s large-scale symphonic Roméo et Juliette’s slow movement (Love Scene) is most celebrated, the epitome of the composer’s deepest passions. Of the generation of French composers after him, Dukas’s La Péri features imaginative and colorful orchestration. Ravel’s Daphnis and Chloé Suite No.2 is a dramatic and sensuous portrait of a touching love story, while his Piano Concerto is imbued with jazz elements, an early precursor of the melding of different cultures.

  • Time:2020-03-06 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥380/280/180/120/80

Paul Dukas
La Péri

Maurice Ravel
Piano Concerto in G major

Hector Berlioz
Love Scene from Roméo et Juliette, Op.17

Maurice Ravel
Daphnis and Chloé Suite No.2

Domingo Hindoyan, conductor
Wan Jieni, piano