In Beethoven’s Symphony No.7, three movements are injected with dance-like verve, encapsulating a driving vitality that transcends time. In the Overture to Coriolan, the tragic hero’s poignant struggles are laid bare as he bravely faces death. Berlioz’s Harold in Italy is a work that rises out of the composer’s longing for freedom against tyranny. Each of these works encapsulates lofty ideals that surpass our mundane lives.

  • Time:2020-11-27 20:00
  • Venue:Chamber Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥VIP380/280/180/80

1,759th concert since the GSO’s inaugural “Music Season” in May 1998

Subscription Concert 4
Organizer: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Huang Yi, conductor
Liu Shuangshuang, viola
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Ludwig van Beethoven
Coriolan Overture, Op.62
Hector Berlioz
Harold in Italy, Op.16
1.Harold in den Bergen
2.Pilgerzug, das Abendgebet singend
3.Serenade, eines Bergbewohners der Abruzzen an seine Geliebte
4.Orgie der Briganten

Liu Shuangshuang, viola

—— Intermission ——

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No.7 in A major, Op.92
1.Poco sostenuto – Vivace
4.Allegro con brio