Qigang Chen’s Instants d’un opéra de Pékin is a powerful symphonic overture that marks a creative breakthrough, while Itinéraire d’une illusion shimmers like radiant trees and rocks in a peaceful and exquisite pastoral scene. Of the program’s two violin concertos by Camille Saint-Saëns, Concerto No.2 is tightly structured, constantly taxing the soloist’s virtuosity. Concerto No.3, written after the Franco-Prussian War, is a somber work reflecting the composer’s determination to challenge Prussian supremacy with French music.

  • Time:2021-09-25 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥VIP380/280/180/80

1, 836th concert since the GSO’s inaugural “Music Season” in May 1998

Subscription Concert 2
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Jing Huan, conductor
Vera Tsu Weiling, violin
Liu Ming, violin
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Qigang Chen(1951-)
Instants d’ un opéra de Pékin Symphonic Overture

Camille Saint-Saëns(1835-1921)
Violin Concerto No.3 in B minor, Op.61
Allegro non troppo
Andantino quasi Allegretto
Molto moderato e maestoso

Liu Ming, violin

—— Intermission ——

Camille Saint-Saëns
Violin Concerto No.2 in C major, Op.58
Allegro moderato e maestoso
Andante espressivo
Allegro scherzando quasi Allegretto

Vera Tsu Weiling, violin

Qigang Chen
Itinéraire d’une illusion