Zhou Tian fuses Chinese culture and contemporary music into Gift, epitomizing a century of progress while depicting the thriving scene that is China today. Bruch, inspired by an old folk tune, crafted his Scottish Fantasy with melodies that are beautiful and simple, yet filled with passion. The musical language of Shostakovich’s Symphony No.5 in D minor delves into many facets of human nature—hatred, contradiction and repression, and an unwavering spirit that eventually resolves into a bright disposition and positive outlook.

  • Time:2023-09-16 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥680/480/380/280/180/80

2020th concert since the GSO’s inaugural “Music Season” in May 1998

Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra 2023/2024 Season Opening Concert
Organizers: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Huang Yi, conductor
Yang Tianwa, violin
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Zhou Tian

Max Bruch
Scottish Fantasy, Op.46
1.Introduction: Grave. Adagio cantabile
2.Scherzo: Allegro
3.Andante sostenuto
4.Finale: Allegro guerriero

Yang Tianwa, violin

—— Intermission ——

Dmitriy Shostakovich
Symphony No.5 in D minor, Op.47
4.Allegro non troppo