Often called “the Beethoven of our time,” Penderecki was a prolific composer throughout his life. He also left an indelible mark on the GSO’s history and development. This concert features three of his works: the Adagietto arranged for English horn and string orchestra from Paradise Lost, which the composer referred to as a “sacred representation” rather than an opera; his Double Concerto for Violin, Viola and Orchestra and his Symphony No.6 (Chinese Poems), a co-commission by the GSO and Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra. Penderecki was inspired by Chinese traditional culture, setting classic German translations of ancient Chinese poems.

  • Time:2023-11-26 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥680/480/380/280/180/80

2036th concert since the GSO’s inaugural “Music Season” in May 1998

Subscription Concert 6
In memoriam: Krzysztof Penderecki at 90
Organizers: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Huang Yi, conductor
Chen Qing, English horn
Julian Rachlin, violin
Sarah McElravy, viola
Thomas Bauer, baritone

Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra
Krzysztof Penderecki
Adagietto from Paradise Lost (English horn and String Orchestra Version)

Chen Qing, English horn

Krzysztof Penderecki
Double Concerto for Violin, Viola and Orchestra

Julian Rachlin, violin
Sarah McElravy, viola

Krzysztof Penderecki
Symphony No.6 (Chinese Poems) for baritone and orchestra
(Co-commissioned by the Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra and Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra)

1.Die geheimnisvolle Flöte
2.In der Fremde
3.Auf dem Flusse
4.Die wilden Schwäne
7.Nächtliches Bild
8.Das Flötenlied des Herbstes

Thomas Bauer, baritone

Approx 1 hour no interval.