Smetana’s The Bartered Bride is a charming and engaging opera based on a real story that took place in a Czech village. Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini borrows the violin virtuoso’s celebrated caprice as a vehicle to display pianistic prowess. The multi-movement Symphonic Dances, Rachmaninoff’s final masterpiece, is a summation of the artist’s life and a token of longing for his native Russia.

  • Time:2022-02-21 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥VIP680/480/380/280/180

Subscription Concert 9
Organizers: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Long Yu, conductor
Yuan Fang, piano
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Overture to The Tsar’s Bride

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op.43
1.Introduction: Allegro vivace
2.Variation I (Precedente)
Tema: L’istesso tempo
3.Variation II: L’istesso tempo
4.Variation III: L’istesso tempo
5.Variation IV: Più vivo
6.Variation V: Tempo precedente
7.Variation VI: L’istesso tempo
8.Variation VII: Meno mosso, a tempo moderato
9.Variation VIII: Tempo I
10.Variation IX: L’istesso tempo
11.Variation X: L’istesso tempo
12.Variation XI: Moderato
13.Variation XII: Tempo di minuetto
14.Variation XIII: Allegro
15.Variation XIV: L’istesso tempo
16.Variation XV: Più vivo scherzando
17.Variation XVI: Allegretto
18.Variation XVII: Allegretto
19.Variation XVIII: Andante cantabile
20.Variation XIX: L’istesso tempo
21.Variation XX: Un poco più vivo
22.Variation XXI: Un poco più vivo
23.Variation XXII: Un poco più vivo
24.Variation XXIII: L’istesso tempo
25.Variation XXIV: A tempo un poco meno mosso

Yuan Fang, piano

—— Intermission ——

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Symphonic Dances, Op.45
1.Non Allegro
2.Andante con moto (Tempo di valse)
3.Lento assai – Allegro vivace