Praised as the “Chopin of the North,” Grieg has long been a national icon of Norway. His Piano Concerto in A minor, celebrating youthful bliss, was composed in Copenhagen during a vacation with his young family. Ravel’s ballet Daphnis et Chloé is among the composer’s grandest compositions, based on the Greek myth of the union between a god and a mortal. A deeply romantic work, Daphnis et Chloé has since been adapted into two suites, both of which have entered the orchestral repertory.

  • Time:2017-04-15 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥380/280/180/120/80

Subscription Concert 10
Organizers: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Xinghai Concert Hall
Long Yu, conductor
Wan Jieni, piano
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Edvard Grieg
Piano Concerto in A minor, Op.16
1.Allegro molto moderato
3.Allegro moderato molto e marcato

Wan Jieni, piano

—— 中 场 休 息 ——

Maurice Ravel
Daphnis et Chloé Suite No.1
3.Danse guerrière

Maurice Ravel
Daphnis et Chloé Suite No.2
1.Lever du jour
3.Danse générale

Approx 1 hr and 20 mins incl 20 mins interval.