Based on Shakespeare’s play, Beethoven’s Coriolan Overture is distinguished by stark, combative passages in C minor in contrast to gentle yet compassionate sections in E-flat major, highlighting the conflict embedded in the tragedy. The piano solo part of Concerto No.3, heroic and powerful, is quintessentially Beethoven. The composer suffered much hardship after Napoleon invaded Vienna, but managed to complete his final concerto, the “Emperor” of that classical genre.

  • Time:2022-05-05 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥

Subscription Concert 14
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall

Ludwig van Beethoven
Coriolan Overture, Op.62

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Concerto No.3 in C minor, Op.37

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Concerto No.5 in E-flat major (“Emperor”), Op.73

Yu Ji, conductor
Li Jian, piano