During the early 20th century, Rachmaninoff remained a romantic stalwart resisting many new trends. However, his Symphonic Dances stands apart from extant examples of the genre by other composers, extending into philosophy and pondering the meaning of life, becoming a vehicle to express his longing for Russia and the romantic spirit. His Piano Concerto No.3 distills everything into virtuosic technique, rendering a colorful masterpiece that has stood the test of time in its Russian spirit and vitality.

  • Time:2023-10-15 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥680/480/380/280/180/80

2025th concert since the GSO’s inaugural “Music Season” in May 1998

Subscription Concert 3
Organizers: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Huang Yi, conductor
Sir Stephen Hough, piano
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Sergei Rachmaninoff(1873-1943)
Symphonic Dances, Op.45
1.Non Allegro
2.Andante con moto (Tempo di valse)
3.Lento assai – Allegro vivace

—— Intermission ——

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30
1.Allegro ma non tanto
2.Intermezzo: Adagio

Sir Stephen Hough, piano