Both Shostakovich and Tchaikovsky were veritable giants in Russian music. Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No.1 in A minor was dedicated to the great violinist David Oistrakh, who worked closely with the composer during its gestation period. The violinist, who performed the premiere, was in awe of the work’s deep artistry. Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No.4 in F minor is an exemplar of that composer’s unique melodic talents, amazing grasp of symphonic structure and colorful orchestration, expressing his romantic sentiments while contemplating life’s many adversities.

  • Time:2023-12-08 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥880/680/480/380/280/180/80

Subscription Concert 7
Organizers: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Long Yu, conductor
Leonidas Kavakos, violin
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Dmitry Shostakovich(1906-1975)
Violin Concerto No.1 in A minor, Op.77
1.Nocturne, Moderato
2.Scherzo, Allegro
3.Passacaglia, Andante
4.Burlesque, Allegro con brio

Leonidas Kavakos, violin

—— Intermission ——

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky(1840-1893)
Symphony No.4 in F minor, Op.36
1.Andante sostenuto
2.Andantino in modo di canzona
3.Scherzo: Pizzicato ostinato, Allegro
4.Finale: Allegro con fuoco

Approx 1 hr and 40 mins incl 20 mins interval.