In 1866, Max Bruch conducted the world premiere of his Violin Concerto No.1, instantly celebrated as a classic and well-loved by all. Russian composer Rimsky-Korsakov based his mysterious and enthralling Scheherazade on the well-loved Thousand and One Nights, and since its premiere in 1888 the suite has captivated audiences worldwide. Although Saint-Saëns’ Cello Concerto No.2 does not match in popularity to his first, its expressive depth resonates with many, proving that conventional elements such as melody and color are not the be-all and end-all of artistic achievement.

  • Time:2021-04-30 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥VIP680/480/380/280/180/80

1, 804th concert since the GSO’s inaugural “Music Season” in May 1998

Subscription Concert 13
Organizer: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Long Yu, conductor
Pan Chang, cello
Lin Ruifeng, violin
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Camille Saint-Saëns
Cello Concerto No.2 in D minor, Op.119
1.Allegro moderato e maestoso – Andante sostenuto
2.Allegro non troppo – Cadenza – Molto Allegro

Pan Chang, cello

Max Bruch
Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor, Op.26
1.Vorspiel: Allegro moderato
3.Finale: Allegro energico

Lin Ruifeng, violin

—— Intermission ——

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Scheherazade, Op.35
1.The Sea and Sinbad’s Ship
2.The Kalandar Prince
3.The Young Prince and the Young Princess
4.Festival at Baghdad. The Sea.
The Ship Goes to Pieces on a Rock