Although they were contemporaries, Brahms and Bruckner held fast to opposite artistic beliefs. Brahms composed in many genres in the romantic repertoire, but only wrote a single violin concerto imbued with pastoral ambience with Hungarian folk materials he incorporated. Bruckner was devoted to the symphonic form, and his “Romantic” clearly identifies the commitment and devotion contained therein, reaffirming the composer’s love of nature, his religious fervor and philosophical thinking.

  • Time:2024-06-07 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥680/380/280/180/80

Subscription Concert 16
2024.6.7 Fri. 20:00
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall

Johannes Brahms
Violin Concerto in D major, Op.77

Anton Bruckner
Symphony No.4 in E-flat major, “Romantic”,WAB 104

Yang Yang, conductor
Paloma So, violin