In Beethoven’s Symphony No.4 in B-Flat Major Op.60, melodies sprint with spring-like verve and praise for life. His Romance for Violin and Orchestra No. 2 in F major is an elegant work with contrasting sections exemplifying the composer’s joy won after years of suffering. Though equally beset by trouble, Mozart’s music chose to portray pure beauty and joy. The Sinfonia Concertante in E-Flat Major manifests the characteristics of two solo instruments in the form of a dialogue, significantly elevating their interaction and thus deepening the work altogether. In its original version, it is played with violin and viola. But for this concert, the solo parts will be played with violin and cello.

  • Time:2024-06-14 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥880/680/480/380/280/180/80

2083rd concert since the GSO’s inaugural “Music Season” in May 1998

Subscription Concert 17
Organizers: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Augustin Dumay, conductor/violin
Jian Wang, cello
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Ludwig van Beethoven
Romance No.2 in F major for Violin and Orchestra, Op.50

Augustin Dumay, violin

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Sinfonia Concertante in E-flat major, K. 364(Violin and Cello Version)
1.Allegro maestoso

Augustin Dumay, violin
Jian Wang, cello

—— Intermission ——

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No.4 in B-flat major, Op.60
1.Adagio – Allegro vivace
3.Allegro vivace
4.Allegro ma non troppo