Brahms came of age in the Romantic era, but chose to go against the tide, looking back to the age of classicism. His Symphony No.1 is a worthy successor to Beethoven, journeying “from darkness to light” and battling fate. Yet one cannot but detect the symphony’s romantic underpinnings in drama, tension and color. The Concerto for Violin and Cello is at once graceful and intimate, heroic and grand. Brahms created music that combine the two soloists with the orchestra in a characteristic touch typical of Brahms’s late period: a smooth-flowing texture that is lofty and refined.

  • Time:2024-07-13 20:00
  • Venue:Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
  • Price:¥880/680/480/380/280/180/80

2093rd concert since the GSO’s inaugural “Music Season” in May 1998

Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra 2023/2024 Season Closing Concert
Organizers: Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, Xinghai Concert Hall
2024.7.13(Sat.)20:00Symphony Hall, Xinghai Concert Hall
Long Yu, conductor
Ning Feng, violin
Jian Wang, cello
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

Johannes Brahms
Double Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op.102
3.Vivace non troppo

Ning Feng, violin
Jian Wang, cello

—— Intermission ——

Johannes Brahms
Symphony No.1 in C minor, Op.68
1.Un poco sostenuto, Allegro
2.Andante sostenuto
3.Un poco Allegretto e grazioso
4.Adagio, Più Andante, Allegro non troppo ma con brio